Quels sont les différents types de chatbots ?

Le développement de la technologie des chatbots a suivi la même courbe dynamique que celle de leurs capacités. Pour l'heure, il est possible de les classer en trois grandes catégories. On les distingue par leur complexité technique :

1. Chatbots simples,

2. Chatbots intelligents et

3. Chatbots hybrides. 

Types of chatbots Types of chatbots

1. Chatbots simples

Les chatbots simples sont dotés de capacités limitées, aussi les appelle-t-on communément des bots à réponses automatisées. Ils s'occupent d'une tâche spécifique, comme un genre de SVI. Il pose des questions suivant des options prédéterminées que le client sélectionne jusqu'à trouver la réponse à sa demande. Le chatbot ne déduira rien de ses précédentes interactions. Il est adapté aux dialogues simples. Son développement et son entraînement ne posent aucun problème.

Exemple : commande de pizza

Quand un client interagit avec un chatbot pour commander une pizza, la conversation est déjà paramétrée. Tout comme un opérateur qui reçoit la commande au téléphone, le chatbot s'enquiert des mêmes éléments, de la taille de la pizza à la croûte, en passant par la garniture et la quantité de fromage. Il demande ensuite l'adresse et la méthode de paiement. Les étapes sont logiques, il suffit au client de cliquer pour compléter sa commande.

Types of chatbots Types of chatbots

2. Chatbots intelligents

Les IA de chatbots sont conçues pour simuler des interactions quasi-humaines avec les clients. Elles sont capables de mener des conversations fluides, de comprendre l'intention, la langue et les sentiments. Ces chatbots ont besoin d'être programmés pour comprendre le contexte des interactions. Ils sont bien plus compliqués à intégrer et opérer et nécessitent beaucoup de données d'apprentissage. 

Exemple : assistants virtuels

Les assistants virtuels sont une version modifiée des chatbots intelligents. Siri, par exemple, apprend de chaque interaction avec un humain. Il est capable de bavarder, l'un des atouts des chatbots intelligents. Si les chatbots sont entraînés à donner la réponse la mieux adaptée en s'appuyant sur des ressources du domaine public, c'est en collectant les données en temps réel qu'ils apprennent le mieux. Aucun bot n'a encore atteint le niveau des assistants virtuels, la somme de données requise est trop grande. Mais théoriquement, les chatbots intelligents fonctionneraient comme des assistants virtuels depuis des applications web. 

Smart chatbot Smart chatbot

3. Chatbots hybrides

Ils sont la combinaison de chatbots simples et intelligents, les deux types aux extrêmes du spectre. Mais nous aurons toujours besoin de chatbots simples un peu plus intelligents et inversement. Les hybrides répondent à cette demande. Ils gèrent des tâches suivant des règles définies et sont capables de comprendre le contexte et l'intention. Un outil équilibré pour les sociétés désireuses d'interagir avec leurs clients. 

Exemple : diagnostic médical

Les chatbots qui participent au diagnostic médical combinent simplicité et intelligence. Les visiteurs pourront exprimer leurs questions de santé et laisser le chatbot réduire le nombre des conditions en s'enquérant des symptômes sur la base de règles spéficiques. Les visiteurs pourront aller et venir, sélectionner différentes options et donner plus de détails jusqu'à ce que le chatbot identifie leur état et leur prescrive des remèdes.

Smart chatbot Smart chatbot

Les chatbots hybrides combinent ainsi simplicité et intelligence.

Hybrid Chatbots Hybrid Chatbots

Le chatbot le plus adapté à vos besoins est donc...

Pour savoir quel type de chatbot vous correspond, posez-vous ces quelques questions.
À quoi servira-t-il ?

Les chatbots peuvent se charger des tâches et des questions. Si votre société ne doit gérer que des besoins spécifiques, un chatbot simple fera l'affaire. Si les questions de vos clients sont plus ouvertes, vous aurez besoin d'une IA. Le chatbot hybride, quant à lui, pourra être réglé selon vos attentes. Exemple : une boutique d'e-commerce devra peut-être définir des options basées sur des règles pour collecter des informations telles que taille, couleur et type de vêtements, mais aussi des questions à contexte comme votre politique de retour ou le statut de la commande. 

Quel est le rôle de vos équipes de service clients et comment vont-elles évoluer ?

Vos équipes travaillent sur des cas complexes et doivent posséder une bonne connaissance du produit. Si l'une de vos équipes passe beaucoup de temps à répondre à des questions de routine, le chatbot reste la meilleure option. Avec une FAQ sous contrôle, vos équipes peuvent se concentrer sur les problèmes les pressants. Une fois les chatbots installés, prenez le temps de les entraîner.

Pouvez-vous améliorer le bot existant ? 

Il y a deux façons d'aborder la chose. Les chatbots se composent le plus souvent de deux éléments : le wiget de chat (frontend) et la Team Inbox avec fonctionnalités de chatbot intégrées (backend). Si vous avez l'un ou l'autre et que vous souhaitez le compléter, intégrez-le avec des plateformes telles que Freshdesk Messaging pour améliorer les fonctionnalités de votre outil.

1er scénario : vous avez déjà un widget de chat et vous avez besoin de flux

Intégrez votre widget existant à la Team Inbox Freshdesk Messaging. Team Inbox est l'IU que votre équipe utilise en backend pour suivre et répondre aux conversations.

2e scénario : vous disposez de flux, mais pas de widget de chat

Si vous disposez déjà de flux automatisés, comme IBM Watson, vous pouvez acheter un widget Freshdesk Messaging en frontend et Team Inbox en backend pour gérer les flux. Dans ce scénario, vous avez juste besoin d'interfaces puisque vous avez déjà le reste. 

Vous connaissez maintenant les différents types de chatbots. Passons à la suite !

Retour à - Qu'est-ce qu'un chatbot ?

What are the types of chatbots?

The growth in chatbot technology has been as dynamic as the evolution of chatbot capabilities. For now, chatbots can be broadly categorized into three types. The three types are differentiated by their technical complexity, namely:

1. Simple chatbots,

2. Smart chatbots, and

3. Hybrid chatbots. 

Types of chatbots

1. Simple chatbots

Simple chatbots have limited capabilities, and are usually called rule-based bots. They are task-specific. Think of them as IVRS on chat. This means the bot poses questions based on predetermined options and the customer can choose from the options until they get answers to their query. The chatbot will not make any inferences from its previous interactions. These chatbots are best suited for straightforward dialogues. They are very simple to build and train.

 

Example: Ordering Pizza

When a customer interacts with a chatbot to order pizza, the flow of the conversation is set. Just like an operator asks for your order over the phone, the chatbot will pose the questions in the same way. Starting from the size of the pizza, to the crust, toppings and amount of cheese. It will then request the address and payment method. The steps are logical and only requires the customer to click through to complete their order.

Types of chatbots

2. Smart chatbots

AI-enabled smart chatbots are designed to simulate near-human interactions with customers. They can have free-flowing conversations and understand intent, language, and sentiment. These chatbots require programming to help it understand the context of interactions. They are much harder to implement and execute and need a lot of data to learn. 

 

Example: Virtual Assistants

Virtual assistants are a modified version of smart chatbots. Siri, for instance, learns from every human interaction. It can also engage in small talk which is an added benefit of smart chatbots. While smart chatbots are trained to give the most relevant response with the help of an open domain resource, they learn best by collecting information in real-time. Note that companies are yet to build a bot to the extent to which virtual assistants work because it requires massive data. But theoretically, smart chatbots would work like virtual assistants within web apps. 

Smart chatbot

3. Hybrid chatbots

They are a combination of simple and smart chatbots. Both simple and smart chatbots are extremes in the chatbot spectrum. There will constantly be a need for simple chatbots to be smarter and smart chatbots to be simpler. Hybrid chatbots meet that middle ground. Hybrid chatbots have some rule-based tasks, and they can understand intent and context. This makes them a balanced tool for businesses to interact with customers. 

Example: Medical Diagnosis

Chatbots that help with a medical diagnosis combine the capabilities of both simple and smart chatbots. Visitors will be able to voice their health-related questions and the bot can narrow down possible conditions by asking for symptoms in a rule-based format. Visitors will be able to go back and forth, choose different options and give more details until the bot narrows down on their condition and prescribes remedies for the same.

Smart chatbot

Hybrid Chatbots are a combination of simple and smart chatbots

Hybrid Chatbots

So, the right chatbot for you is...

To know which type of chatbot works for you, ask yourself the questions below.
What will the chatbot be used for?

Chatbots can help with tasks as well as queries. If your business only has task-specific needs,  then a simple chatbot will do. If you have customer queries that are open-ended, there is a need for an AI chatbot. A hybrid chatbot, on the other hand, can be adjusted to fit your business needs. For example, an E-commerce store might need to set up rule-based options to collect information such as size, color, and type of clothing, as well as context-based questions like your return policy and order status. 

What is the role of your customer-facing teams and how will it evolve?

Your teams work on complex cases and most of their work requires product knowledge. If you have a team that spends time answering routine queries, then a chatbot is the best option for you. With FAQs taken care of, your teams can focus on customers with more pressing issues. Once the chatbots are in place, you can spend time training the bots.

Do you want to buy or build? 

Whether you buy or build a chatbot entirely depends on your company's needs. If you are looking to build a chatbot - you’ll require technical talent, massive data with billions of users, and complex use-cases that are not served by out-of-box technology that is ready to use.

On the other hand, if you want to buy a chatbot, you won't need to hire developers for this single use case. Look for a chatbot that helps you automate processes that are a bottleneck for your teams. Typically, these chatbots can be used to generate leads, collect information, supply status updates or answer common customer queries. They don’t have any technical dependencies and can be deployed by the teams that interact with the customers. 

Can you improve your existing bot? 

There are two ways to approach this scenario. Chatbots are predominantly a two-part tool: The chat widget (The frontend) and the Team Inbox with in-built chatbot features (The backend). If you have either one and are looking for the other half, you can integrate with platforms like Freshchat to improve the functionalities of your existing bot

Scenario 1: You already have the chat widget and need to build bot flows:

Integrate your existing chat widget with the Freshchat Team Inbox. Team Inbox is the UI that your team uses in the backend to track and respond to conversations. 

Scenario 2: You have bot flows built but need a chat widget:

If you already have bot flows, say from a provider like IBM Watson, you can purchase a Freshchat Widget as the frontend, and the Team Inbox as the backend to run the flows. In this scenario, you only need the interfaces, since you already have the bot flows in place. 

 

Now you know the types of chatbots. Here's what's next!

Go back to - What is a chatbot?